Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Honor Society Phi Kappa Phi inducts new members

by Jonathan Coffman

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the University of Kentucky’s society recognizing scholarship across campus, held its initiation ceremony Tuesday, Nov. 9.

Chapter President Frank Ettensohn welcomed attendees with opening remarks, followed by Student Vice President Malinda Massey’s presentation of Phi Kappa Phi’s origins and history. Fellow Student Vice President Christina Walker shared the symbolism of the organization’s seal and badge, while Public Relations Officer Carl Nathe introduced distinguished candidates and installed new members.

The 2015 inductees are:
Brianna Anderson 
Kate M. Bussell
Merryn Cole
John Duncan 
Kierston Eastham 
Sara B. Freytag 
Trent Garrison 
Catherine Danielle Gooch 
Gabriella Hodges 
Jessica Horohov 
Audrey Kinder 
Grace Lauzon 
Erin Molloy 
Jennifer Newman 
Holly L. Nieves
Lydia Shanklin Roll
Nicki Sullivan
Mary L. Tanner
Martha Katherine Templeman

The ceremony was accompanied by an opening musical, “Centennial March” performed by The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi’s John M. Bliss.

The organization was founded in 1897 to honor excellence in all academic disciplines. Phi Kappa Phi provides $1 million in grants and scholarships to outstanding students and faculty every two years. The top 10% of seniors and graduate students and top 7.5% of juniors with at least 72 credit hours are invited to join at member-campuses.

Phi Kappa Phi awards 57 Fellowships of $5,000 and three at $15,000 to members entering the first year of graduate or professional study. Each chapter can select one candidate from local applicants to compete for the Society-wide awards. The organization also offers other awards like Love of Learning Awards, Literacy Grants, and awarding a Phi Kappa Phi Scholar & Artist as well as a grant to support undergraduates hoping to study abroad.

Click here for more information on the University of Kentucky chapter of Phi Kappa Phi.